EAC Redeploys Deputy Secretaries General

The Secretary General of the East African Community Amb. Dr. Richard Sezibera has deployed three Deputy Secretary General to different dockets as directed by the 10th Extraordinary Summit of Heads of State held last week.

In changes announced Wednesday morning the newly appointed Deputy Secretary General Hon. Jesca Eriyo takes over the Productive and Social Sectors docket previously handled by Mr. Jean Claude Nsengiyumva.

Hon. Eriyo, who was sworn in on 28 April 2012 at the 10th Extraordinary Summit, assumed office with effect from 30 April 2012, taking over Uganda’s slot for Deputy Secretary General that was previously held by Hon. Beatrice Kiraso.

Mr. Nsengiyumva has been redeployed as the Deputy Secretary General in charge of Finance and Administration, while his predecessor in that position, Dr. Julius Tangus Rotich, becomes the new Deputy Secretary General in charge of Political Federation, filling a position left vacant by the exit of Hon. Kiraso, whose second and final three-year term came to an end on 28 April.

Dr. Enos Bukuku retained the Planning and Infrastructure docket, while Mr. Peter Kiguta also remains Director General for Customs and Trade.

The number of Deputy Secretaries General is determined by the EAC Council of Ministers, and the Deputy Secretaries General are then appointed by the Summit of Heads of State on the recommendation of the Council and on a rotational basis. Each Deputy Secretary General serves a three-year term that is renewable once.

The Deputy Secretaries General’s roles include deputizing for the Secretary General and performing such other duties as may be prescribed by the Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *